ALASKA MINERALS COMMISSION

Meeting Notes

December 6, 2024

IN ATTENDANCE:

Alaska Minerals Commission (AMC): Chair Enric Fernadez, Vice Chair Justin Seavey, Commissioner Kyle Beebe, Commissioner Chris Kennedy, and Commissioner Tisha Kuhns.

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (DCCED): Sarah Chambers, Boards and Regulations Advisor, Office of the Commissioner; Nichole Tham, Operations Manager, Division of Community and Regional Affairs (DCRA); Sally Russell Cox, State and Federal Programs Section Manager and DCRA staff to the AMC.

Members of the Public: Emily Hycus, Northern Alaska Environmental Center.

I. Call to Order and Roll Call

• Chair Enric Fernandez called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m.

a. Roll Call

• Five commissioners were present, constituting a quorum

b. Declarations of Conflict of Interest (AS 39.52)

• No conflicts of interest were declared by commissioners.

II. Review/Approval of Agenda and Meeting Notes from November 22, 2024 Meeting

- Commissioner Kuhns moved to approve the meeting agenda. Vice Chair Seavey seconded the motion. None opposed.
- Commissioner Kennedy moved to approve the meeting minutes from the November 22, 2024 meeting. Commissioner Kuhns seconded the motion.

III. Recap of Previous Meeting

• Chair Fernandez provided and overview of the November 22, 2024 meeting, the revisions to the 2025 report, and the assignments to update the remainder of the report.

IV. Review/Propose Changes to Annual Report

 Commissioner Kuhns updated the section Support the Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys. Vice Chair Seavey moved to approve the edits to this section. Commissioner Beebe seconded the motion. None opposed.

- Commissioner Kennedy discussed his proposed changes to the section on Support Education and Outreach for Mineral Development. Chair Fernandez made a motion to approve the changes. Commissioner Beebe seconded the motion. None opposed.
- Chair Fernandez updated the Recommendation under Federal Priorities, The Governor and Legislature should continue to support exemption of the Tongass National Forest from the Roadless Rule. Commissioner Beebe moved to approve thee changes. Commissioner Kennedy seconded the motion. None opposed.
- Chair Fernandez changed the fifth recommendation under this section from the Governor and Legislature should "closely monitor" to "request an audience" with the Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers regarding the Supreme Court decisions of EPA v. Sackett. Commissioner Kennedy moved to approve this change and Vice Chair Seavey seconded the motion. None opposed.
- Vice Chair Seavey combined Priorities 1 and 2 under State Priorities. Chair Fernandez recommended that DEC should be emphasized as challenged in maintaining qualified personnel.
- Chair Fernandez suggested that Sally copy and paste Vice Chair Seavey's edits into his current edits and then have DCRA's publications specialist begin layout and design of the n 2025 report, based on these changes. Chair Fernandez moved to approve this process and Vice Chair Seavey seconded the motion. None opposed.

V. Public Comments/Testimony

• No public comments or testimony was offered.

VI. Schedule Next Meeting

• Friday, December 13th at 11:00 a.m. was determined to be the best time for the next meeting. Chair Fernendez will be out of the country, so he asked Vice Chair Seavey to chair the meeting.

VII. Adjourn

• Chair Ferandez moved that the meeting be adjourned. Commissioner Kuhns seconded the motion. None Opposed. The meeting was adjourned at 11:01 a.m.